Post Thanks / Like

Newbie has a question

My brother has had a 2006 (TOP BANANA) Daytona for about 10 yrs. I enjoyed it so I recently pulled #0547 out of a salvage yard to rebuild.
    Most of the front end needed replaced, and after posting on another forum, it was suggested that I stay with the stock look instead of putting on a SRT8 front end. Tha body work is done and it is in the paint shop. I had not driven it before, but had it running for very short periods. Now after a short drive, (to the paint shop) it is blowing white smoke and running very ruff. Have not had a chance to dig into it, but afraid I might have serious problems. My question is, should I stay with the 5.7L with some performance upgrades, or swap it out with a 6.1L? I am a disabled retired veteran, and money is a big concern. I found a used 6.1L w/trans out of a 2008 SRT8 with around 60K miles for $6100.00, but looks like I might be able to get a reman 5.7L for about half. Any ideas? Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    IMHO, Budget permitting go with a stroked 426.
    2012 300 SRT8: 22" Vossen wheels, Nitto 420 265/35/22 front and 295/30/22 rear, SLP Bigmouth II exhaust, Tuned by Hemifever, Mishimoto 180° stat, Legmaker Tru CAI, Billet tech Oil Catch can.

I am silently correcting you're gramar and speling.

Post Thanks / Like
    Depends what you are really after. I plan to stay 5.7 based with both my cars (13 Challenger and now #0222 Top Banana Daytona). I plan to race both and even though a swap would help a lot in the power department, I love eating up 392s and the occasional hellcat at the track in my Challenger. Then they ask what I have stuffed in it and I say a stock bottom end 5.7 lol.

But I digress. It is up to you what you want to do with the car. If it’s just going to be a driver, I’d put a 5.7 back in and do upgrades if you want. Definitely cheaper and less of a headache.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like
    Does the white smoke have any smell to it?