PDA

View Full Version : Camshaft Position Sensor Replacement



swagon
05-27-2009, 08:58 PM
Here is a quick post on replacing the camshaft sensor.

1. Disconnect the negative battery cable.

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r150/brascal/random084.jpg

2. Locate the camshaft position sensor, it is on the passenger side in the front on the block.

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r150/brascal/random075.jpg

3. Remove 10mm bolt and remove camshaft sensor.

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r150/brascal/random076.jpg

4. Unplug sensor, apply dielectric grease to new sensor and plug in, apply a small amount of grease to o-ring, replace into block and tighten bolt. Can't remember torque spec but will update it when I find it back.
5. Reconnect battery cable.

http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r150/brascal/random085.jpg

MOL SRT-8
05-27-2009, 09:34 PM
why did you unhook the battery? that part alone takes more time them the rest of the job.

swagon
05-27-2009, 09:40 PM
why did you unhook the battery? that part alone takes more time them the rest of the job.

I was doing my crankshaft position sensor at the same time and to cover my a$$.

MOL SRT-8
05-27-2009, 10:01 PM
I was doing my crankshaft position sensor at the same time and to cover my a$$.

cool.

archebald23
08-26-2010, 02:18 AM
whew.. its not as easy as it looks.. purchased a camshaft from Engine Power parts (http://www.thepartsbin.com/brands/engine_power.html) and tried to install it via DIY. Took me 2 hrs but i was able to do it and am happy i did it. thanks.

Mighty Noid
08-26-2010, 02:54 AM
.........

Mighty Noid
08-26-2010, 02:55 AM
whew.. its not as easy as it looks.. purchased a camshaft from Engine Power parts and tried to install it via DIY. Took me 2 hrs but i was able to do it and am happy i did it. thanks.

a camshaft and a camshaft sensor are different items... we are talking about a sensor on this thread...

it should only take about 5 mins to replace the sensor....

to do a camshaft should take a few hours...

Bagged Mag
06-22-2011, 10:45 PM
after i replaced my camshaft sensor i got a whole slew of codes and it takes forever for my mag to turn over.

codes i got are 061c, 2172, 0340, 0344 and 0406. thought it might be a bad sensor so i put the old one back and i get the same thing.

what did i do wrong?

keviiinn
11-14-2011, 04:28 PM
wanted to start a new thread on this but I figured I'd ask here first. I actually changed my camshaft position sensor about a year ago. when I did it, I accidentally crossthreaded the bolt that goes into the block. It was only partially screwed down though, and I backed it out and put it back in straight, I think.

either way, I just thought about it now and decided to ask. is this going to be an issue later on? am I going to be needing to replace that thing again any time soon? I don't think it was bad the first time, I just replaced it because it was relatively cheap and I had an intermittent starting issue. aren't the blocks iron? how in the world was I able to partially strip the threads? or was I mistaken and I partially stripped the threads on the bolt?

karfreek
04-28-2012, 10:30 AM
Did this this morning as I was getting the long crank to start 3-4 times a day taking 3-4 times to start. Took about 8 min to do. Time will tell if it was the fix. But I did notice that for the first time in 96,000mi my car idles smooth now. Like Lexus smooth.

Jay

karfreek
04-28-2012, 10:35 AM
wanted to start a new thread on this but I figured I'd ask here first. I actually changed my camshaft position sensor about a year ago. when I did it, I accidentally crossthreaded the bolt that goes into the block. It was only partially screwed down though, and I backed it out and put it back in straight, I think.

either way, I just thought about it now and decided to ask. is this going to be an issue later on? am I going to be needing to replace that thing again any time soon? I don't think it was bad the first time, I just replaced it because it was relatively cheap and I had an intermittent starting issue. aren't the blocks iron? how in the world was I able to partially strip the threads? or was I mistaken and I partially stripped the threads on the bolt?

If its in and tight I would let sleeping dogs lie. If you do have to change it again just be careful when threading it back in. Maybe chase the threads first to clean them up with a tap.

Jay

smoove7410
05-07-2012, 07:30 PM
Ok, retard question time regarding number 4.

4. Unplug sensor, apply dielectric grease to new sensor and plug in, apply a small amount of grease to o-ring, replace into block and tighten bolt. Can't remember torque spec but will update it when I find it back.

Where exactly on the sensor do I apply it too? Obviously, it is the part that goes into the block, but the whole thing? Also, do I use the same dielectric grease on the o-ring? Do I remove it and grease, or grease while it is in?

Thanks for the help. I have gotten this long cranking start for too long and I'm going to give this a try.

karfreek
05-08-2012, 12:29 AM
I believe he meant to apply the grease to the terminals. Then apply a light amount to the OD of the Oring with it installed on the sensor. No need to coat the entire sensor.

I did not do any of this and it has been ok sofar.




Jay

Via Tapatalk

The Phantom
05-08-2012, 07:56 AM
Did anyone else get any codes after chaning the sensor im may to try and do mine tonight if i can find one in stock, hope this fixes my problem

300Shawn
05-21-2012, 01:18 AM
I was getting a ruff idle with vibration. I change the cam sensor and noticeable smoother idle. before the change if i stop too fast the car felt like it wanted to stall not anymore. hopefully this may help someone with similar issues.

blacknight
07-26-2012, 02:07 PM
before the change if i stop too fast the car felt like it wanted to stall not anymore. hopefully this may help someone with similar issues.



I've had that exact same thing happen to me and on two ocassions it actually stalled.
I thought it was bad gas or something.
Maybe I will try replacing the sensor.
I just dont want any codes or something

07RT
08-29-2012, 06:27 PM
What are the symptoms indicating that the sensor needs changing? rough idle, codes? ___?
How much $ was the sensor?

06charger...
08-30-2012, 08:00 PM
I had intermittent long starts, surging @ part throttle and horrible gas mileage...
$36.00 OEM part from dealer. So far all is good........

DLuxFX
08-30-2012, 08:13 PM
if your car is older be hella careful with that bolt...i had the head snap off on mine...oh and be sure to get an oem sensor. i bought aftermarket first and it was no good...twice.

karfreek
08-30-2012, 09:13 PM
What are the symptoms indicating that the sensor needs changing? rough idle, codes? ___?
How much $ was the sensor?

Random multiple attempts to get it started. Surging while accelerating and driveability issues.

TNCHARGER
08-30-2012, 09:16 PM
Cured my low speed surging....

Cisco Kid
01-30-2013, 12:10 AM
Noob here. Should there be oil on the sensor when you remove it?

Cisco Kid
01-30-2013, 12:21 AM
nvm got the answer. =)

vinny32
02-20-2013, 03:57 PM
this is something new to me i have just never heard of these sensors going bad on any cars that often especially in cars that are fairly new

093.5Charger
01-28-2014, 01:10 PM
Old thread but for the people that don't know there is a resync procedure you should do after you do this not sure if it's on all the vehicles but on my 09 3.5 I had to do it to clear my CEL


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

neuroticdave
06-03-2015, 09:38 AM
Just went to do mine and the plug was different. Looked around online and they all seem to be the same as the one I purchased, but my cars plug is smaller. Anyone run into this before?

IES99
02-10-2017, 11:06 PM
Thank you. Did this on 10 minutes with OEM part.

Jim McVeigh
10-13-2018, 01:26 PM
What is the torque value for the bolt?

diboblo
10-13-2018, 01:38 PM
What is the torque value for the bolt?Maintenance, Service, and Parts Manuals | Chrysler 300 - Dodge Charger, Magnum, and Challenger (http://lx.bigbruin.com)

Download the service manual and parts book for your Gen1 LX, for torque specs and more.

Bob

Lux Technologies - LuX Technologies - Custom Interior Light Mods for Chrysler / Dodge / Jeep Platforms [LX/LC/WK] (http://Luxte.ch)