Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Scam perhaps??

  1. #1
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925

    Question Scam perhaps??

    So there was this mustang i was looking at on auto trader. 67 mustang convert. eleanor replica cherry red and well i sent the seller and email and this is whats happened so far sounds like a scam.

    your thoughts?


    Because I've moved in the US and I can't close the deal face to face, I want to use eBay Motors VPP for this
    deal, because you will have protection up to $50,000 trough eBay Motors Vehicle Purchase Protection so, we will be 100% secured in this deal.
    I need your full name and your shipping address so I can initiate the transaction with eBay Motors. They will contact you with further details
    regarding the payment and the shipping process. You will have to make the payment on the name of an eBay agent, they will confirm it and
    the shipping will be started. You will have 14 days for inspection from the moment the car arrives before you confirm or you can cancel the deal and eBay will give you the money back. The car will be returned free of charge. It is not a sight
    unseen deal. On the other hand I can ship the car knowing that you are a serious buyer and you won't disappear with it. We are both covered.
    Sorry for the long emails I have tried to explain the entire process.

    Amanda


    On Thu, May 7, 2009 at 8:39 AM, moe khela <moekhela420@hotmail.com> wrote:
    Im located in vancouver can i have the address to where the car is so i can take a look at it?
    If i did like the car i would like to have the registered owner here whether thats you or someone else so theres no mystery there

    Date: Wed, 6 May 2009 13:28:06 -0700
    Subject: Re: Mustang for sale
    From: s324d2@googlemail.com
    To: moekhela420@hotmail.com


    Hello,

    Sorry for the late response, but I have just arrived in Utah, USA. I wanted to let you know that the Mustang is still available
    for $7,000+$300 shipping fees anywhere in Canada. It is in great condition
    inside, outside and mechanically, no mechanical problems, clear title, 87351 kms on it. The car is in Vancouver at the shipping
    company World Safe Shipping ( Click here to view their website World Safe Shipping).
    Let me know if you have any questions. If you are still interested please come back so I can explain you how the deal work.

    Thanks
    Amanda



    Hi there is the mustang still for sale? if so when can i see it?

  2. #2
    ZeGuru's Avatar
    ZeGuru is offline It's me, no really - it is.
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Downtown Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    4,503
    Complete and utter scam. Ask if you can inspect the car since you have a relative that lives in Vancouver. I will go out on a line and say you will not receive an email back.

    EDIT:

    Plus, a profession shipping company that ships worldwide wouldn't be using a template site through yola.

  3. #3
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925
    thats what i thought too

  4. #4
    ZeGuru's Avatar
    ZeGuru is offline It's me, no really - it is.
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Downtown Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    4,503
    There was an add floating around here last year about a GSRT. I believe it was in the Phoenix area Craigslist. So I emailed him about the car, and wattaya know, the car was being stored in St Paul at a non-existing business. When I emailed him that I in fact LIVED in St Paul, and would love to check it out, I never heard from him again.

  5. #5
    morticia's Avatar
    morticia is offline Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc.
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    1313 Cemetery Lane
    Posts
    703
    Albiet I would be very careful, but it would appear that such an protection program is available for vehichles sold on ebay. Goggle ebay motors vpp and you can read up on it. I also took a look to see if such a vehicle was listed on ebay and it apepars that there is one 67 mustang listed on ebay located in canada. Maybe see if you can reach someone from ebay.

  6. #6
    ZeGuru's Avatar
    ZeGuru is offline It's me, no really - it is.
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Downtown Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    4,503
    I bet he wants the deposit "outside" of ebay.

  7. #7
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925
    hmmm im gonna find the auto trader posting brb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver,BC
    Posts
    182
    i work for a freight forwarding company.. never heard of worldsafe shipping..this is a scam

    i juss googled "world safe shipping" and founds this

    http://www.fightthescams.com/tag/world-safe-shipping/

    no stanger banger for you..lol

    stick to ur lx!

  9. #9
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925

  10. #10
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925
    and sorry the cars a 69

  11. #11
    Gucci300C is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,925
    Quote Originally Posted by KingOfHearts View Post
    i work for a freight forwarding company.. never heard of worldsafe shipping..this is a scam

    i juss googled "world safe shipping" and founds this

    http://www.fightthescams.com/tag/world-safe-shipping/

    no stanger banger for you..lol

    stick to ur lx!

    Im gonna keep the lx for a little while probably trade it in next year but if that car is for real at 7 grand ill find a way to get the cash and store it sell it at barret jackson when i can go to the states

  12. #12
    X's Revenge's Avatar
    X's Revenge is offline As featured in Modern Mopar Magazine
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    5,098
    SCAM... I have the same email type scam.... they all just arrived in Utah, hahaha sight unseen and willing to ship back and forth, wow

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver,BC
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by Gucci300C View Post
    Im gonna keep the lx for a little while probably trade it in next year but if that car is for real at 7 grand ill find a way to get the cash and store it sell it at barret jackson when i can go to the states
    no doubt..that woulda been a wicked deal..

  14. #14
    Manny08's Avatar
    Manny08 is offline MANNY
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    1,201
    I think it time for Oliver Clotheoff to email them

  15. #15
    ZeGuru's Avatar
    ZeGuru is offline It's me, no really - it is.
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Downtown Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    4,503
    Yeah, this is how the get people, they feed on human nature (greed - absolutely no disrespect meant by that). The GSRT was the same way, I think he was selling a perfectly good vehicle for $9000 or something.

    The hope is that multiple people will fall for it and they can collect multiple deposits.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Share This Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •