Post Thanks / Like

Testing steering column wiring without airbag

Total newbie to the forum, and to working on my 2005 Chrysler 300C. I apologize for posting this in multiple areas, but I got no response to the other one after 3 days, so I’m assuming the other one wasn’t in the right place.

I am trying to fix a brake light issue: high mount light works, tail light brake lights don't. I’ve found similar problems on this and other forums, but haven’t found one quite the same because my rear signal lights and hazards are working.

If I read the wiring diagrams right, it would seem that since the signal lights and third
    brake light work, to be either the wiring from S227 (between brake switch and high mount brake light) to the multi function switch, or the multi function switch itself. I tried a second multifunction switch (new airtex 1S7909), and the problem is still there. My next step is to start checking voltages up to the multifunction switch.

My question is this (assuming my troubleshooting so far is right): can I reconnect the battery without the Steeringwheelcontrol module, steeringwheel, and airbag installed, or is the car going to go crazy without them?

Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, you can connect without anything installed but you will get warning lights upon battery connection.

Welcome from Markham, Ontario.

2006 300SRT8
    SOLO Performance Mach X3 SRT exhaust / LMI V2 True CAI / Eibach Sways / StreetEdge coilovers / Trufiber hood / AMG paddles w/TRS300 wireless controller / Grant Revolution steering wheel / Arrington strut bar / BT engine bling incl. uni-strut caps / Rohana RC-10's / Trufiber hood / Kaption Audio amps, sub and speakers / Rebadged by Nate / Interior switch lighting by Diboblo / Instrument cluster by Black Cat Automotive and Tim Stone (TRS300)
    Thanks Ahhhh thanked for this post
    Likes Ahhhh liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks, BryGuy!

Post Thanks / Like